Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

Part-time student council tax Watch

ReputationRep:
    So next year I'll be redoing the year as a part-time student, as I've already passed two modules and I'm finishing my dissertation this year. I'm entitled to a full-time student loan as it will only be my fourth year as a student, but as I will only be doing 70 out of 120 credits I will be a part-time student.

This means as a part-time student I may have to pay council tax on wherever I'm renting. I'll most likely be living with a few full-time students. The gov.uk website says

"If you count as an adult for Council Tax and live on your own, you’ll get 25% off your bill.
    You’ll also get a discount if you live with people who don’t count as adults for Council Tax."

Does this mean the latter is also a 25% discount? Or another percentage? A friend also told me of something about if a part-time student lives with full-time students there's some sort of exemption? Or is he just talking some tax-dodge he figured out?

ReputationRep:
    There is only one discount, which is the 25% which comes under single person (there are others for disability etc but don't apply here).

You will be solely reliable for 75% of the council tax of the property.

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App

ReputationRep:
    Specific to my area Gwynedd Council says:

"If everyone who lives in the household are disregarded for the purpose of calculating your Council Tax, then the discount granted could be up to 50%."

I would be the only person paying in the house.

Additionally:

"From 1 April 2013, as a result of UK Government legislation, Council Tax Benefit is replaced nationally by local schemes and renamed Council Tax Reduction Scheme. The Welsh Government has designed one scheme to be used by all Councils in Wales.