Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Anyone self taught them self to play an instrument? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    Was just wondering if anyone has self taught them self how to play the instrument and how the process of doing it went. I myself and thinking of teaching myself how to play the piano, so if anyone has done this, feel free to comment and mention any sources that helped you to do so!
    Thanks in advance!

Also I have a keyboard that I would be using to self teach myself. Would this hinder my learning? Is it better to have a piano?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 1education)
    Hi,
    Was just wondering if anyone has self taught them self how to play the instrument and how the process of doing it went. I myself and thinking of teaching myself how to play the piano, so if anyone has done this, feel free to comment and mention any sources that helped you to do so!
    Thanks in advance!

Posted from TSR Mobile
    I learnt how to play the piano by self-teaching myself. If you've done no music before, you'll need to learn some theory like how to read music, clefs, key signatures and chords first. Since I already played Violin and Flute, I could already do this, and so downloaded free sheet music off the internet and started learning them! However if you're a complete beginner, you may find it easier to buy a book of simple piano tunes to start with.
    Hope this helps!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lizz-ie)
    I learnt how to play the piano by self-teaching myself. If you've done no music before, you'll need to learn some theory like how to read music, clefs, key signatures and chords first. Since I already played Violin and Flute, I could already do this, and so downloaded free sheet music off the internet and started learning them! However if you're a complete beginner, you may find it easier to buy a book of simple piano tunes to start with.
    Hope this helps!