Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys!

Ive been accepted into Kings for Computing and Security. I want to know about the living costs. I know theyre really high. Im currently thinking of this budget-

Accommodation-6500 pounds for the year. Ive listed Great Dover Street Apartments as my first choice. Thats around 160p a week.

For other living costs- 1000p a month. Roughly 250p a week. (Im not really sure about this)
    Works out to 18500p for the year.

Is this estimation fine? Or do you think Id need lesser?
    I am an International student.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by VivanKumar)
    Hey guys!

Ive been accepted into Kings for Computing and Security. I want to know about the living costs. I know theyre really high. Im currently thinking of this budget-

Accommodation-6500 pounds for the year. Ive listed Great Dover Street Apartments as my first choice. Thats around 160p a week.

For other living costs- 1000p a month. Roughly 250p a week. (Im not really sure about this)
    Works out to 18500p for the year.

Is this estimation fine? Or do you think Id need lesser?
    I am an International student.
    http://www.studentfinance.direct.gov..._schema=PORTAL

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    I would say £1200-1300/month is enough including rent, transport and living costs. It's what research councils pay PhD students in London.

ReputationRep:
    I get by on about £1200 a month, but that's not enough for much leisure or social life.
    You should do OK with £18k for the year.

ReputationRep: