Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Good day,

Does anybody know about how high (%) the rate of failure at postgraduate level is? I got offered I place for a business master's degree at University of Manchester and I am afraid that I fail. Since this course is quite expensive and I had to work very hard to save the money I am worried.

Maybe I am also worried because I am not sure whether my level of English is sufficient even if I have an IELTS of 7.5. In addition, I graduated (BSc) form University around 4 years ago.

However, my goal is just to pass this degree. Do you think that's realistic?

An answer would be very appreciated.

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    The drop out or fail rate wont tell you if *you* will drop out or fail.

A Masters course is expensive, and you need to think very carefully about what, if any, advantage you think it will give you. Realistically, apart from Science/Tech subjects, a Masters probably wont help you get a better job.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for your answer. Unfortunatel I agree that the drop out/fail rate wont tell me if I fail. Nevertheless, it seems to be an indicator regarding the likelihood that I fail.

Therefore, are there many students failing there masters?

Thanks

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by suppitupi)
    [...] Does anybody know about how high (%) the rate of failure at postgraduate level is? I got offered I place for a business master's degree at University of Manchester and I am afraid that I fail. Since this course is quite expensive and I had to work very hard to save the money I am worried.

Maybe I am also worried because I am not sure whether my level of English is sufficient even if I have an IELTS of 7.5. In addition, I graduated (BSc) form University around 4 years ago.

However, my goal is just to pass this degree. Do you think that's realistic? [...]