Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there! Just some questions

1. At what year in the degree can a law student start to apply to Vacation Schemes/Internships at large City law firms? Do firms accept applications from applicants of any year?

2. When applying for your first internship/scheme, what should be decent things on your CV? I'm worried because at that point most of the stuff on my CV is going to be unrelated to Law, besides maybe some clubs and mooting.

3. If you receive a TC offer, and they opt to pay for your LPC, can you defer that? Say, if you wanted to do an LLM in America first or something, and THEN do the LPC and join the firm.

4. What's the market rate for a Magic Circle first-year trainee salary, and first-year newly qualified solicitor salary?

5. My degree is a five-year combined double degree program where I get a bachelor of business and a bachelor of laws. Will this put me above other applicants to TCs, ceteris parabis? Will the business knowledge be seen as useful to firms, particularly if I want to get into corporate law and M&A? Or will it make no difference

ReputationRep:
    1. Second year onwards is standard procedure for applying for vac schemes, though not a set-in-stone rule.

2. Things that show initiative, drive, work ethic and so on are good even if they are not related to law. Read more here.

3. Depends on the firm, but quite possibly.

4. See here for salaries.

5. It may help with certain firms, depending on the grade you get, how you market it on your CV, and what other qualities you have.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    (Original post by lifeisgood.)

1. At what year in the degree can a law student start to apply to Vacation Schemes/Internships at large City law firms? Do firms accept applications from applicants of any year?
    Penultimate year of a qualifying Law degree, Final year of a non Law degree.