Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I graduated with a degree in Film Studies but I've been unable to get any work experience/internships in the industry, except a one week one a month after graduating. I've applied for countless internships and runner positions but haven't got any of them. I've networked and attended workshops to learn more. Recently I was told I don't have enough experience to even be a runner! I'm feeling like my three years at uni was worthless.

Does anyone have any tips for getting into this industry? Anyone have the same problem?

Does anyone think I should look into other industries to work in? Like publishing/journalism. Currently I work in admin, which isn't what I pictured myself doing after three years at uni. Is there some good I could do with my degree?

ReputationRep:
    Maybe I could help you a bit

Try applying to very small companies. Volunteer working for free and doing absolutely everything! Apply for jobs such as receptionist, PA, stuff like that. Sounds boring (and believe me, it is) BUT you will get to know everybody important and if an interesting job comes up you'll know first.

Network. Look for people who work at companies you'd like to work at and contact them asking if they'd know anything for you. It's begging, but sometimes it helps. Go to little art-house cinemas and get talking to people. Attend small or bigger film premieres if you can (as a waiter if you can't get an invitation) and once again network! Be friendly, interested, don't say anything about not getting a job! Just mention you're not happy where you're working now and that you'd be interested in something else.

Hope this helps a bit! Remember - your way will be long and hard but hopefully worth it in the end.

best of luck!

ReputationRep: