Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am very confused at the moment about what i am doing with my life. I'm a year 13 student who applied to study psychology at Aston, Loughborough, East Anglia, Keele and kingston and I have received offer from them all. However I'm not too keen on studying psychology any more. I know its a little late but I really don't want to do it.
    Currently my As level grades are:
    Biology: B (2 marks off an A)
    Chemistry: B (1 mark off an A)
    Psychology: C
    I've been looking at different biology and chemistry related courses, and have come up with these options:
    Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
    Chemistry with analytical science
    Biological Sciences
    Biological chemistry
    Does anyone have any information on these course? What they involve and what careers they can lead to?
    I am highly confused at the moment and would really appreciate any help at all.
    Sorry for the ramble
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

What are you planning to do? Are you going to decline those offers and take a gap year? I think that may be a good idea if you are completely turned off from psychology and you would have something else worthwhile to do for a year (if you get AAC, you might want to try and redo psychology and get a B or A) . Then you would be able to apply for uni the year after with your a-levels all ready awarded, making it easier to pick universities and meaning that you would get unconditional offers.

I do a biology degree (more concerned with evolution and ecology), but I don't really know to much about the career possibilities, as I want to go into research (a simple pathway, but difficult). I think that a chemistry degree or a biology degree that focuses on biochemistry would lead to a decent range of careers depending on the exact degree; I'm thinking of things such as:

research (academic or industry or health sector)