Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Putting a Uni as first choice watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,
    I am currently studying my AS levels and I am hopefully going to start applying to Universities in September to study Pharmacy. However, I was just wanting to ask, would a Uni lower their original entry requirement if you were to 'firm' their offer - i.e. as first choice... also would Uni's look at the AS grades in subjects or the predicted grades from teachers?

Cheers and thank you for reading.

ReputationRep:
    Do you mean would you still be accepted if you didn't get the grades come August? It's up to the University themselves. I hear some do but it will be depend on how far you've missed your offer. ABB instead of AAB for example, may be accepted.

They look at both AS grades an predicted grades but I'd assume they put more emphasis on predicted as some people do resit AS units.

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App

ReputationRep:
    I know that Birmingham did a trial scheme as to if you put them as your firm, then you had an unconditional offer, but for those who put it as their insurance the offer was AAA (or whatever the normal offer was). This was only offered to 1000 people as a trial, and was for those who applied to AAA courses with say A*A*A* predicted or whatever.

ReputationRep:
    It all depends on how many people get the grades to get in and how competitive the course is.
    they won't lower the entry requirement for you according to your choice because they give you the conditions before you choose your firm and insurance and reject your other offers.

I'd apply for a range of unis that you dont mind going to but have a range of requirements and see what they give you. they dont always stick to their requirements when they make your offer, I had a few last year when I applied for Human Biology for CDD down from BCC, obviously a massive reduction.