Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I feel like I've failed in life. I've dropped out of uni 4 times (twice for undergrad and twice for postgrad), but still managed to get my BSc in the middle of the dropping out.

I'm 26 and the only jobs i've had are retail, data entry/data admin, and I feel like my life is at a dead end at the moment. This is such a far cry from my time at high school where i was a top 5 student with 4A's at a-level and the only boy to get into oxford. I feel like life has gone down hill since I dropped out.

I start a new data entry job next week after nearly 9 months of being unemployed and I'm desperate to go back to uni and do a masters and try get my dream job in the oil industry.

Has anyone been in a similar boat to me where you just hated uni so much you kept dropping out, but at the same time you badly want that piece of paper which employers want so much?

Is 28 too late to do a masters and start a career job? I'm 26 at the moment and I will start the MSc in a years time when i've saved up enough money, and i'll be 28/9 by the time I come out - will I be too old to start a graduate job? So many things i'm worried about at the moment. Just wish I could rewind 7/8 years back to when I was doing my a-levels and take a different path!

ReputationRep:
    Why did you drop out of Oxford?

ReputationRep:
    I completely agree.

28 is not too late to do any degree, many people start Masters years after their Bachelors. I would however question your commitment to higher education. It isn't for everyone.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rock_climber86)