Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

My name is Luke and I am an English speaker, from the UK currently living in Ireland (North), I recently decided I would like to learn a new language, as a hobby, to open up more entertainment and literature to me, and also to improve future job prospects and learning opportunities.

What I would like to know is, what would be the most useful languages for me to learn, I currently work in the IT industry if that helps, and would quite happily work anywhere in Europe or the US and Canada if given the chance!

But which language would be of the most use to me? I'm not discouraged by a language being hard or difficult; I am willing to commit to it, if it will prove useful to me in future!

So tell me what you think

btw I have studied some French and German at school level but not GCSE, I did better in German than French, again if that helps.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LukeM90)
    Hi,

My name is Luke and I am an English speaker, from the UK currently living in Ireland (North), I recently decided I would like to learn a new language, as a hobby, to open up more entertainment and literature to me, and also to improve future job prospects and learning opportunities.

What I would like to know is, what would be the most useful languages for me to learn, I currently work in the IT industry if that helps, and would quite happily work anywhere in Europe or the US and Canada if given the chance!

But which language would be of the most use to me? I'm not discouraged by a language being hard or difficult; I am willing to commit to it, if it will prove useful to me in future!

btw I have studied some French and German at school level but not GCSE, I did better in German than French, again if that helps.