Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm an inexperienced programmer, working on my first major programming project (in my own time, not for any course), which is to design a flight-planning system as an add-on utility for Microsoft FSX.

My main concern is designing a 'world-map' onto which I can put airports, VORs, waypoints and so on. The map would need to contain contours, airways, and be capable of displaying weather information (to be downloaded by the user from weather-reporting organisations.

What would be the best way to design this? I don't much mind which programming language to use. I'm familiar with Visual Basic and Javascript, but am willing to use this project to learn one or more different languages if necessary.

I considered some kind of link to Google Earth, but again, as I'm inexperienced, I'm not sure how to implement this.

Finally, would this be better as a program that runs off the users' computer, or as a web-based system? I'm leaning towards web-based, as it would make the frequent updates that would be necessary much easier.

I'd greatly appreciate any suggestions.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not very sure what you mean.

You want to create a word-map or use Microsoft FSX's?

Either way, your talking about implementing quite complex GIS functionality.

Google uses an XML schema called GML to store vector data. So if you was to use this, you'd need to learn how to parse XML data. Weather information, etc. can be in a variety of formats (raster, vector).

I've never worked with Microsoft FSX, but I'd guess your best bet would be to find out how add-on spatial data is stored and see if you can come up with some kind of conversion method.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BirdieUK)
    I'm not very sure what you mean.

You want to create a word-map or use Microsoft FSX's?

Either way, your talking about implementing quite complex GIS functionality.