Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all.

I am currently enrolled on an MMath degree. I have a dilemma about which degree path to choose, which boils down to the following options, both will take four years:

1) Graduate with an MMath (masters degree) and spend the third of my four years studying abroad in a university in America or Australia

2) Graduate with a BSc but for my third year take a placement year and work for a firm.

I expect to graduate with a First and intend to work during the summer: at worst case I will end up returning to a local accountancy firm at which I worked at last summer; the best case is that I actually get onto a big internship with an investment bank or one of the Big Four accountancy firms.

My goal is to secure a job in the finance industry... actuary, accountant, investment banker.. not sure what yet! I just don't know what employers look more favourably on?!

Ideally I would love to study abroad for the life experience, and the fact that my tuition fees would be free for that year, but at the end of the day the degree is all about securing a good job!

If anyone could help me out it would be greatly appreciated!

t.beer94

x

(Original post by t.beer94)
    Hi all.

I am currently enrolled on an MMath degree. I have a dilemma about which degree path to choose, which boils down to the following options, both will take four years:

1) Graduate with an MMath (masters degree) and spend the third of my four years studying abroad in a university in America or Australia

2) Graduate with a BSc but for my third year take a placement year and work for a firm.
    I would personally do the BSc. + placement as I've no use for a masters and would rather be in a job than spend another year doing a masters, not having a clue what I want to do and am essentially in the same predicament I was the year before.