Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    P.docx

ReputationRep:
    any clue ?
    • Study Helper

Can't make sense of what you've done.

PS: It would be better if you put your question/working into your post, rather than a Word document. Just copy & paste would do it.

ReputationRep:
    my question simply was for the Z value 0.1 . If i convert this to 0.5398 rather than -1.2816 , would my solution then be correct ? because for that value you can choose probability on either Table ( Z < z) or ( Z > z)

ReputationRep:
    Hi Charly2012

I'm also studying A level Stats at the moment and the Normal Distribution is also causing me a problem or two, so was drawn to your predicament.

Anyhow, as I'm self tutoring, I can't be certain that my solution(s) is/are correct, however, for waht it's worth, I've had a bash and this is what I've come up with:

Mean= 55

Standard Deviation: to be determined (and required to answer second part of question).

We're looking to find a z value which can be used to calculate the unknown Standard Deviation.

So, we're told that 10 per cent of the cups contain less than the 50 ml stated on machine, so we're looking to turn this 10 percent into a 'z' value. If you were to sketch the normal Distribution curve above an axis (asymptotes to the axis at both ends don't forget and bell shaped in the middle where the mean od zero is situated) the z value we want (exceeds 10 per cent) would be found at the left hand side of the distribution i.e. on the negative side so the 'z' must be negative.
    As the table doesn't contain values for percentages below 50 per cent, we use symmetry to convert the 10 per cent value into a value we can use therefore, (100 - 10) per cent = 90 per cent. From the tables, this gives a value of 1.2816, however, remember ours was at the left hand end below zero so we require the negative value.