Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

To Start I'm in my 2nd year of Uni and have been living with the parents. But, recently I have wanted to move out and 'Gain Independence', I'm just wondering whether it would be worth it or not just for 1 year(Maybe 2 if I go onto PostGrad)?
    To be honest I want to move out so I don't have to travel to Uni which usually takes around 30mins - 1hr, to experience living away and as I stated above Gain Independence.
    If I had any decent friends that I could rely on I would ask them to rent a place together alas sadly I do not.

Also, would I be better in University Halls or a Private Halls not owned by the Uni? I've seen that Halls can be quite noisy at times :P.

Finally, Should I move out for my Placement Year? Provided I can find accommodation closer than my Parents or for my 3rd/4th Year?

In my opinion, I believe I'm over thinking things too much and should just get on with it and Move out.

What do you guys think?

EDIT:
    In Short: I've been living with Parents for First 2 years of uni, Should I Move into Halls(If at all possible) or Private Halls(Not Owned by Uni)? And would it be beneficial to move out for my placement year aswell as my 3rd and possibly 4th(Masters)?

ReputationRep:
    Ka-Bump

ReputationRep:
    Will your Uni even let you stay in halls? Many dont even have enough space for freshers, let alone random third years. In addition, do you want to live with a load of 18 year olds who have only just discovered drinking?

Private halls are a variable feast, but can tend towards being very quiet.

Do you have any friends from Uni that you could move into a shared house with? Have you considered finding a spare room in a student house through TSR / elsewhere?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Origami Bullets)