Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

This is my first time on TSR so please forgive me if I have posted in the wrong section; hopefully with time I will get the hang of this.

I was just curious to see if you think I should apply to Oxford, and whether or not I have a realistic chance.

A bit about me:
    4A*, 7A's and 1B (additional science) at GCSE - I was the highest achiever of the year (this is because I went to a very 'rough' high school- which has also encouraged me to apply as Oxford apparently take this into consideration, especially as my GCSE's aren't outstanding)

AS January results: Economics A, Maths A, Literature A
    Predicted 4A's at AS.

I take economics, maths, english lit. and psychology.

If I do apply I was thinking of going for Economics and Management (yes, I know it is the most competitive course )

Thanks for your time,

ReputationRep:
    You have good grades and know what you want to do. Go for it! What's the worse that could happen?

ReputationRep:
    The success rate is about 9% for that course at Oxford. Nobody on here can tell you for certain that you can or can't apply to Oxford because we just don't know.

What I can say, is that based on my nosing around TSR for the last few years and a quick review of Oxford admissions statistics, if Mr X applied with 11 A*s at GCSE, 4A*s at A-level and had top notch work experience/ECs and a stellar personal statement, even his chances wouldn't be great.

You have a chance. What we can't do, is quantify it. At the end of the day, it's only one choice on your UCAS form, so why not try!?

ReputationRep:
    Your gcses are on the low side for E&M but I've seen people on here (going back quite a few years though ) with worse. As someone else said, what's the worst that could happen and the TSA will help in that respect if you do well