Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I'm a year 13 student with 5 offers for English, German and Spanish, my favourite by far being the combined honours course at Durham, which requires A*AA. I would absolutely love to go to Durham and the course looks great, however I haven't firmed it yet.

What's putting me off is the amount of stress - I feel ill whenever I think of results day, as the idea that I don't know where I'm going to uni until a month before terrifies me. Furthermore, I've spent the last few years slogging away at exams, only to go to uni to spend another 4 years doing so - it just seems ridiculous! I like learning and studying, but I just feel like my whole life is revolving around passing exams!

Any advice on what I should do? Would particularly like to hear from those who took a Gap Year for similar reasons, although many thanks for all replies

ReputationRep:
    i also took a gap year for this reason. exams were causing me a ridiculous amount of stress and so was the thought of going to university. i am currently in my gap year and have been just working the whole way through. it's only been excellent. having a job gives you an indication of what your life would be like without uni and you're also earning money and have the freedom to enjoy it for a year and spend days relaxing, doing whatever you want really. for me, working for a year has been great and it's really confirmed for me that i want to go to university and how much i miss being in education, and now i feel excited to go in september and ready to dive straight back in to learning go for it! speak to durham about deferring your place as you don't want to throw that away if it's the uni of your dreams. you won't regret having a gap year, as long as you do something with it and don't just sit indoors lonely. go travelling, work or something, just have fun and it will be the best thing you could have done good luck xxx