Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello all -
    I am a student from Vancouver BC who just discovered this wonderful forum on UK universities.

I am currently 23 years of age and will be applying (or, hoping to) for Oxford's PPE program this coming year (2013 for 2014 entry). I will briefly outline my situation and hopefully some of the experts here can give me a realistic evaluation.

As you already know, I did not follow the traditional route of education. In fact, I delayed my high school graduation for some time - graduated July 2011 from a Chinese high school. The school does not have IBs or APs (let alone A-level) - but I did some APs on my own. I have an OKAY SAT score of around 2100, and three SATs (USH, math, physics) at 780 770 760 each. I graduated from the high school top 1% ranking - and during the period of 2009 - 2011 I was mainly doing political research and touring different universities (a couple of American ones, Canadian ones, Chinese and Japanese). I also ran a clothing business near Seattle and a tutoring company.

Do you think I stand a chance for PPE? I know that the most important evaluative tool Oxford uses is the interview - but will my credential allow me to get shortlisted for the interview at least? I've tried the TSA - and it seems to be pretty easy.

Thanks for your help!

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I can't give you the detailed evaluation you're probably hoping for as I'm far from being an expert on how exactly how Oxford judges foreign qualifications, but I can tell you that the TSA score is the main tool the tutors use to help decide whom to invite to interview for PPE. If you do well on the TSA, you're very likely to be shortlisted as long as your qualifications are up to scratch (almost half the people who apply are interviewed).