Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying the first year of a History degree and I'm not enjoying it and want to switch to a Japanese degree.

My A Levels weren't good enough to apply so I applied hoping they would consider my CertHE as meeting the entry requirements, but unfortunately they didn't and rejected me.

It seems my only real option if I want to change degrees is to do an Access Course, but I've just read that from September 2013 these will cost around £3000.

As I'm 21 I wouldn't even get a loan until I'm 24+, and as I already have A Levels and the first year of a degree there's no way I'd get the course funded either.

There is no way I am going to find £3000 without a loan. It seems really unfair that they have put the fees up so much that anyone who wants to do an Access course under the age of 24 is financially restricted from doing so unless they have no A Levels.

Considering my circumstances, is there any cheaper alternative to Access to HE or am I just going to have to accept the fact that I have been priced out of doing an Access to HE course?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TobaccoSmoke)
    I am currently studying the first year of a History degree and I'm not enjoying it and want to switch to a Japanese degree.

My A Levels weren't good enough to apply so I applied hoping they would consider my CertHE as meeting the entry requirements, but unfortunately they didn't and rejected me.

It seems my only real option if I want to change degrees is to do an Access Course, but I've just read that from September 2013 these will cost around £3000.

As I'm 21 I wouldn't even get a loan until I'm 24+, and as I already have A Levels and the first year of a degree there's no way I'd get the course funded either.