Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a second year History student hoping to get into the legal profession after my degree, I got ABB in my A-Levels (History, Law and Business) and feel it may be ruining my chances. I was wondering whether it's worth re-sitting one exam in my Law A-Level... I was half a mark off achieving an A overall in my last exam, I feel it's hindering me a lot having ABB instead of AAB which is a minimum for many vac schemes.

Even if I achieved a first in my degree, which is what I am currently aiming for, would my A-Level's still drag me down when it comes to a career in Law?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I think it's a bit late now. Doing it on a gap year would be one thing, doing it two years down the line is another.

ReputationRep:
    It's obviously going to be more beneficial to resit it now and have AAB to offer instead of ABB.

I would suggest you resit a unit as a private candidate along side your degree (I know it's going to be difficult but I know people that have done it).

Good Luck

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App

ReputationRep:
    I thought it's meant to be top 3 from your first sitting?

ReputationRep:
    As far as I'm aware, they don't accept resit results - not in the City, anyway.

ReputationRep:
    I think you ought to redo it to get better results, if you can, because although some don't accept resits... others do! It'll make you more confident but don't let it jeopardise your degree!
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    I thought (although, I could be wrong as I did A-levels under the old system) that once you "cashed" it in and took the award that grade stood?

ReputationRep:
    Ask the law firms.