Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I've been trying to get some info for a while about this, I contacted the National Careers Service but they have been no help whatsoever.

I am 28, I already have a degree in drama (I only graduated with an ordinary degree due to issues in my final year, therefore my degree is currently worthless).

I want to return to education to study a new degree in primary education or social work but the issues I have are the tuition fees, and if I can get the information I need this will decide whether this path is doable for me or not.

When I studied my first degree it was under the old rules, it was means tested on my mum's income (she was a student nurse at the time) and I did not have to pay tuition fees so I did not take out a tuition fee loan. I did however take out a student loan to pay for living expenses etc.

My partner (who i do not yet live with) has agreed to support me living expenses-wise, but I need to know if I will be eligible for a tuition fee loan as I did not take one out before for my first degree. I am currently on just over minimum wage.

I would not be expecting to take out a second student loan as I am aware I would need to have paid the original back before I could get another one (although I may apply for bursaries or grants if they are applicable to me), just the tuition fee loan.

If anyone can enlighten me as to whether I might be entitled to the tuition fee loan I would be very grateful. This is the only thing currently holding me back.

(Also are tuition fees means tested now?)

Thanks in advance
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Official TSR Representative
    Hi Holly,

Unfortunately we wouldn't be able to provide tuition fee support for Social Work as a second degree although you would be entitled to another maintenance loan and you could also apply to the NHS for non repayable bursary.