Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have one month to study for 3 subjects and to do some more work on my research paper. I'm only taking 3 subjects this semester but this just means it'll take me longer to get my master's degree.

My worst subject is linguistics and I don't even have the level of a second-year student in that subject due to the fact that I wasn't able to attend some classes when I was an undergrad.

I have some health issues and it hasn't been easy for me to finish my B.A.--I got it eventually but it took me longer than it should have...

So here's what I've done to get better at linguistics (so far):
    I don't feel like I really have a method and I'm mainly gathering stuff for now so I need all the advice I can get.

* I purchased several books (I asked people to recommend some that were easy). They're still hard to understand but I feel like they help at least a bit. I won't be able to do that again anytime soon because even 4/5 textbooks cost a lot of money.

* I also borrowed some books from the library because buying books is expensive. However I feel buying some textbooks was necessary because I cannot hog library books forever.

* I'm thinking of printing past papers that are available online (or I could also put them on my Kindle, which would save ink).
    The thing is, I don't have the level required to do the past papers which renders them pretty much useless.

* I bought 12 Stabilo point 88 pens and I'm also looking for the old ones I bought many years ago. They still work but a couple of colors are missing. Do these pens last long? I plan on doing a lot of writing.
    Since I'm on a tight budget and also need to buy colored paper I grabbed a pack of 20 ball-point pens for a low price. They write well and some of them have really pretty colors.

*Like I said I'll buy flash cards/colored paper eventually. For now regular paper will do.