Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I applied to three universities this year and four courses. Sadly after months of waiting I was rejected from my top two choices. I'm now waiting on my third choice. The requirements are lower for this course but it is also a slightly different course from the others I applied to. The first two were straight languages whereas this course is languages and business/intercultual communication. It would still allow me to study two languages but I'm not as familiar with the business side as much as languages.I'm just not wanting to wait yet another year and reapply..I graduated last summer and have spent this year on a gap year of sorts,working and doing a part time college course to keep up my language skills and gain further qualifications while applying.

Cons of this course:
    lower ranked uni,former polytechnic,(does this matter though? I think I've just been influenced by friends)
    year abroad option is only for one language not two..organise own?
    language study is mainly aiming for fluency is a business context..not my original plan..
    unsure of the worth of marketing/business with languages as an overall degree

ReputationRep:
    When you say you have graduated.. Do you mean you are a post grad student or are you referring to completion of secondary school/college?

Do a bit more research on the nature of the course and maybe speak to students who already do it to find out what it's like, it sounds like a good idea to do languages applied to business and I expect it would potentially lead to better career prospects than languages alone.

It does not matter if it's a former polytechnic and lower ranked uni. As long as you like it there, it's a well organized institution and you get a good degree that's all that really matters. What university is it by the way?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by littleone271)