Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys. I've got a conditional offer for the Aeronautical engineering course 2013 at the University of Glasgow. Right now I'm in the position to actually select my top two unis. The thing is that Glasgow,unlike others, doesn't provide any imagery or videos with the faculty's facilities and labs.
    Any info (especially visual ) would be highly appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    I recently firmed Glasgow as my first choice for this course.
    They have pretty decent wind tunnels, better than Strathclyde's to my knowledge. They also have a small working jet engine in one of the labs. Unfortunately I don't know much more, they annoyingly cancelled the aeronautical tour at the recent open day due to short staff.

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying Aerospace Systems at Glasgow, they follow pretty much the same syllabus as pure aero for the first couple of years anyway.

In first year you'll take maths E1, which is pretty much advanced higher maths with a bit of an engineering perspective to it, I stress *a bit* it's still boring as sin. You'll also take electrical engineering - analogue electronics, which is pretty good, the labs are good and facilities are pretty standard, later on in the course the facilities improve as you use more technical stuff - all 1st and 2nd year labs are pretty standard across the board anyway...

Most of your practical time is either spent in the computing labs in the Aero/Mech building (james watt) or the Electonic engineering (rankine) building. the labs are pretty much standard computing labs - I wouldn't get too excited.

for mechanics and thermofluids it gets a bit more interesting - you spend a ****-load of time in the tuck lab in the james watt building. it's just been refurbished in the last year or so and it's really nice - all up to date stuff and it's huge.