Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    After completing my first half marathon a month ago, I have decided to do a Triathlon. The problem is I am a complete novice!
    After a bit of researching, there are many different types of Triathlons and I think I will be doing the "Olympic Style" which is 1.5km Swim, 45km Bike and 10k Run. Obviously I will need to train for this, but I have a few questions.

The cost of a triathlon seems to mount up to a lot! What are the bare necessities for an amateur? With regards to the swim, will I need to invest in a wetsuit? Or will just a pair of swimming shorts suffice?

I have an old bike, but its cheap as chips and a bit rusty. I reckon I could push the boat out and get a cheap, second hand road bike for about £200-250 after looking on ebay. Will this be okay? I dont really understand the transition from swim to bike...

The run I will be fine with.

Clearly I am a Triathlon novice, and any tips, advice on the event/training will be appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DelBoy12)
    After completing my first half marathon a month ago, I have decided to do a Triathlon. The problem is I am a complete novice!
    After a bit of researching, there are many different types of Triathlons and I think I will be doing the "Olympic Style" which is 1.5km Swim, 45km Bike and 10k Run. Obviously I will need to train for this, but I have a few questions.

The cost of a triathlon seems to mount up to a lot! What are the bare necessities for an amateur? With regards to the swim, will I need to invest in a wetsuit? Or will just a pair of swimming shorts suffice?

I have an old bike, but its cheap as chips and a bit rusty. I reckon I could push the boat out and get a cheap, second hand road bike for about £200-250 after looking on ebay. Will this be okay? I dont really understand the transition from swim to bike...

The run I will be fine with.