Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Hi everyone, hope I posted in the right place as I'm pretty new to this site

Basically I have a problem with my parents. At the moment, I'm a first year uni student (19 next month). Since its Easter holidays at uni and my friends have all gone home, I decide to visit home for the first time in 3 months and they still treat me like I'm 4 or something. At the moment, I'm staying at home for a few more days then going back to campus and staying there for 2-3months.

Firstly, they won't let me go anywhere where alcohol could be involved (like clubs bars, nights out with friends etc, I can drink alcohol btw), they both constantly argue at each other for no reason (mum and dad) and they are such pessimists about everything, it's driving me insane. No one at uni so far has pissed me off so much to that extent.

Because I'm 19 next month, I will be planning to have a flat party in my halls at uni. Despite this happening at my flat/room and not at their house, my parents seem to severely oppose this and they said they'll "check up on me that night".

Also, they have invited me for a holiday but I want to decline in favor of seeing some uni friends and hopefully travel places (if I have enough money). They haven

I need advice, please, especially for summer when I gotta move back to my parents house :mad:

Helpful info:
    -my parents are Chinese and strict.
    -My halls is roughly 50-60miles (about 1 hour drive on motorway) from my parents house.
    -I have my dad on fb and I can't remove him as friend otherwise he'll start intimidating me with threats etc
    -I need to stay on good terms with my parents and so can't "ignore them" because although I sorted my student finance this year (for my 2nd year uni), I'm certain that I will need their information again.

sorry for the long post, but I REALLY need advice please, thanks

ReputationRep: