Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Currently looking at the US section and stuck on immigration.

Who supports immigration and who doesn't and why?

I have some reasons for (cheap labour, they do the job Americans don't want to do, gives them a better life in America) and some against (costs government billions in border control, cultural tension/hostility and creates more competition for Americans), but I can't think of any other reasons.

If anyone could help that'd be great

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Hi there, i am also studying higher modern studies and funnily enough i was stuck on the USA immigration topic also. I searched online and found a plan which a teacher from another school had put online. It says this:
    Economic impact:

• Immigrants do low paid jobs that others will not which allows America to stay competitive
    • Wage levels are forced down by immigrants – therefore immigrations hurts the poor in USA
    • Cost to taxpayer through the facilities used by immigrants eg children of illegal immigrants receive free schooling HOWEVER illegal immigrants do not receive more than emergency medical care, and also it has been shown that they do contribute to taxes.
    • Cost of investment to border security

Cultural impact:

• US culture being overwhelmed – In California by 2030 Hispanics are forecast to be the majority.
    • America as a ‘melting pot’ of nations benefits from increased diversity.
    • Illegal immigrants increase crime in America and contribute to the trade in drugs, particularly as many are used as drug ‘mules’ as they travel into America, HOWEVER, there are many immigrants who are not involved in crime themselves and provide a much needed workforce to service industries and farming industries.

Political impact