Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying economics at a Russell Group university (not Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, Warwick, Imperial or UCL) and not enjoying the course at all. I mean I get on with all of my flat mates but don't really know or talk to many people on my course. I think it's this reason that I perhaps haven't got on with the course very well and so have next to no motivation to do work.

I have always been very aware of where my degree would take me and applied for many spring weeks, but the closest I got to one was just one unsuccessful assessment centre (with no feedback; thanks for that). No spring week and not getting on with the course will means I'll be going into penultimate year summer internship applications with possibly a 40 or 50% first year average (that's if I pass my first year exams) and no relevant experience, which makes the task of getting a summer internship seem nearly impossible.

So I was thinking of dropping out of uni, but not just for these reasons. I feel like my university's reputation is hindering me in getting internships which ultimately lead to jobs. I feel that if I quit uni and applied to do a slightly different university and course, such as accounting and finance, that I would get on a lot better with it as I have come to find economics very abstract and quite tedious. Accounting and finance seems much more relevant, especially given my career goals.

This means I'd have to take a gap year and reapply next year which means completing another UCAS form (which was far from enjoyable the first time around). There's also no guarantee that I'll get any offers, although with A-Level grades:

Maths A*
    Economics A
    Business A

I do think I'd be capable of challenging for a place at a higher placed uni, especially seeing as I have already obtained my A-Levels.