Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am in my final year of my law degree and last year I had a few problems so I am only going to get a 2:2 probably a high one all going well..

I have a conditional place for the LPC in Liverpool, however is there really any point as the majority of firms want a 2:2. People say its possible to get a training contract but is it really? I mean people with 2:1's don't.

The majority of places I have applied to have already turned me down for work experience, should I just give up?

I don't want "yes" or "no" constructive answers please.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    That depends, what were your "few problems" for getting a 2:2 average? If you have good and understandable extenuating circumstances you can very much get a TC.

A friend of mine got a low 2:2 in first-year and had to retake one of her modules, she still for Vac Schemes at Linklaters and Ashurst because her grades were the result of attending university full-time whilst helping her mother after her dad died that year and then helping her husband who had been diagnosed with cancer and was undergoing chemo most of that year. She ended up getting a TC offer at Links at the end of the summer.

If you have compelling reasons for low grades there's no reason why you should be held behind.

ReputationRep:
    I had to go home over the summer as advised by the doctor as I had severe depression, I came back in the summer to take my exams but I did not sit two of them due to be ill in bed and provided a doctors note so I am allowed to sit them this year for full marks.

I am taking eight modules this semester instead of four
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Jenn91)