Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    As a international student, I know very little about educational system in the UK. I'm sure there are more international students here who would like to have some information about that.

I know that there are two semesters and three terms. How many courses do we have in one year? How many tests do we have for one course? How many times we can have final exam for one course (in case you don't pass, for example in my country we have three chances for one course before you lose a year )? Does the final exam cover material of the whole semester or just material we have after last test?

Hope you understand my questions! Sorry for my english

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JelenaM)
    As a international student, I know very little about educational system in the UK. I'm sure there are more international students here who would like to have some information about that.

I know that there are two semesters and three terms. How many courses do we have in one year? How many tests do we have for one course? How many times we can have final exam for one course (in case you don't pass, for example in my country we have three chances for one course before you lose a year )? Does the final exam cover material of the whole semester or just material we have after last test?

Hope you understand my questions! Sorry for my english
    For university level education:

- The amount of modules/courses you do in one year varies. Each course is worth a certain number of credits, and can last for 1 or 2 semesters. Other than your dissertation, usually modules are 10 or 20 credits. I myself have my dissertation (which is worth 40 credits), and then do 8 x 10 credit modules - 4 in semester one, 4 in semester two. If I had of wanted, I could have done 5 in one semester, and 3 in the other - but it couldn't be more unequal than that.