Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I am hoping to get some advice about the following.

I am a mature student 27 and after working for 12 years i decided to go get an academic background in Hospitality after being in the industry for on off my whole working life.

I am currently studying international hospitality management, which to be honest i have not learnt a lot from - it's just to get a degree at this stage which will enable to immigrate.

However i have just found out as a "compulsory" part of the course we have to do work experience.

They have only brought this out in the past few weeks as they have realized they had run out of work for us to do!

So now i have to work 9-5 in a restaurant for free for 3 days, bearing in mind i have worked in restaurants for years. It cost me £10 a day to get to the restaurant. Plus i have to go out and buy a long sleeved black shirt and a black tie so add another £20 quid. So i will be out of pocket for £50. I work 2 jobs and i have 2 assignments due that week i will be working.

As you can tell i really do not want to do it! Its unnecessary. We also have a placement year. So i do not see the point. I am 27 and do not need to work for free to gain "experience" .

What should i do in this situation? I do not want to offend any of my tutors! Is there any way i can get out of it?

Thanks for any help!

ReputationRep:
    You need to speak to your tutors. Explain that you have worked in the industry for ten years and don't feel that a weeks work experience will be beneficial, ask if you can be exempt from it based on your previous extensive experience. It might also help to point out that you are a mature student and are working two jobs to support yourself. I don't see that it would cause offence if you put it in the right way.

ReputationRep: