Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello All,

I am currently studying a BSc in Psychology, im in my final year and due to graduate in a few months. I have thought long and hard about what I want to do and I keep coming back to being a nurse. I really want to care for and help being and think I'd love being a nurse, but i didn't want to do another undergraduate degree!

I discovered recently that you can do a PgDip with registration in nursing which acknowledges you have done a degree in something already. I was looking at my options and I definitely don't want to do mental health nursing but I am stuck between adult or children's nursing. I love children I have been brought up around lots of babies and children and had numerous baby sitting and nannying jobs in summers between studying but I don't want to limit my career options too much.

Id appreciate very much and advice, tips, stories and expertise from nurses or nursing students.

ReputationRep:
    I suppose it depends where you see yourself working in the future. Both have the same progression opportunities although there are less jobs in childrens due to there being less hospitals etc. I would advise getting some experience in both and see how you feel after that x

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tmeb)
    Hello All,

I am currently studying a BSc in Psychology, im in my final year and due to graduate in a few months. I have thought long and hard about what I want to do and I keep coming back to being a nurse. I really want to care for and help being and think I'd love being a nurse, but i didn't want to do another undergraduate degree!