Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,
    I'm currently studying an English Lit degree. What are my future employment opportunities with a degree of this sort? Any info will be greatly appreciated :-)

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Starbucks.

ReputationRep:
    You could do anything you want! Out of my cohort of English Literature graduates, there are people working in:

- Education
    - Museums/Heritage
    - Fashion
    - PR/Marketing
    - Journalism
    - Publishing
    - Charity sector
    - Banking
    - Law
    - Accountancy

and the list could go on.

For some of these obviously you will need further training beyond your degree, but it just goes to show you're not limited to the arts or education after graduation. Not all English graduates become teachers or librarians.

It's a fact that employers love English graduates - we're articulate, analytical, culturally aware and usually very emotionally intelligent (ie. will make good managers of people). English is a very well respected, traditional degree course that usually (depending on your university) requires students to have a high standard of academic achievement as a prerequisite. It teaches you so many transferable skills and ensures that you have an outstanding command of the English language, which is very hard to come by in the workplace, believe me. Due to all of these reasons, English graduates are amongst the most employable.

You'll find that a huge array of career options are open to you - so it's just up to you to work out what it is you want to try and then go for it.

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    Thank you Rachel :-) The information is much appreciated.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rachelsays)
    You could do anything you want! Out of my cohort of English Literature graduates, there are people working in:

- Education
    - Museums/Heritage
    - Fashion