Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    Okay, here's the deal:

    I have an old computer which I'm trying to fix up for my little brother. Unfortunately I know little about computers, however he only plays games such as counter-strike 1.6 so there isn't a big need for an upgrade. I've installed Windows 7 and I'm typing this up on the computer, so far it's going smooth.

    It has:
    2.5gb RAM
    AMD sempron 3400 + (1.8ghz)
    70gb hardrive
    Nvidia Geforce 6100 nForce 405 integrated

    Now, I've looked at graphics cards and they all say stuff like PCI-E or whatever, I don't know what this means (see pics below). It says on my motherboard PCI-Express:












    I'd like the cheapest graphics card possible, just enough to run CSS on around medium settings as he wont be playing anything else really.

    Now, the case seems like a standard sized case, but there is two problems:

    1. The PSU is only 250Watts, so I NEED to get a graphics card which is OK with that (I will not upgrade the PSU).
    2. When looking inside the computer, I don't see where I attach the graphics card to PSU, do I have to unscrew something?

    ANy help would be appreciated, thanks.

    (Original post by Iqbal007)
    x
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    did you buy this from a company such as Dell,Hp etc?
    Are there any cables that arent plugged into anything coming from your PSU?
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Battered Burrito)
    did you buy this from a company such as Dell,Hp etc?
    Are there any cables that arent plugged into anything coming from your PSU?
    ACER
    I can't see any. It's all very tidy and all the cables go through a small hole into the PSU so I'm assuming I'd have to take off the metal plating to see if there are any slots.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    Just read in-depth your specs and looked at images and it appears the manufacturer is ACER. the problem is that the company ship the computer to you with the hardware required to run your computer. This means that the PSU they provide is most likely just enough to run the computer and wont give you much lee-way in terms of upgrade. Im going to find a card i think will work with 250 W however, if you cannot find any extra cables coming from the PSU it may mean you can do this without spending £50 on a 400W PSU to give you the option to upgrade i know that you will not upgrade the PSU but if there is no other option then im afraid it will be impossible to upgrade.

    Hope this made a little sense to you and will report back as soon as i find something
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    If there arent with the other cables that come out, im afraid its bad new
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Battered Burrito)
    If there arent with the other cables that come out, im afraid its bad new
    but I've found some graphics cards which are powered through the motherboard. For example, the GT 520.
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    OP most of the graphics cards you will be able to run, will run off the PCIe slot power, meaning that you shouldn't need to upgrade the PSU. However, 200w ispretty low power to run any kind of gfx card, and allthough I would usually say go for it, I might not risk it in your case. If the psu is standard size then it shouldn't be too expensive to upgrade, and a little knowhow to rewire the PC.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Asus-GeForce...+graphics+card

    This will be plenty for him and you might just scrape it on the 200w psu. You just plug it into the PCIe slot.

    Tom
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Battered Burrito)
    If there arent with the other cables that come out, im afraid its bad new
    Sorry but that's complete BS. Most low end gfx cards run of PCIe power. If your going to make posts advising someone you'd better know what your talking about...
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    Haha, thats exactly the same card i was just about to post. Thanks, and yeah, they would power through the PCIe slot however some of these cards can still draw a bit of power :P
    Offline

    14
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DH.)
    Okay, here's the deal:

    I have an old computer which I'm trying to fix up for my little brother. Unfortunately I know little about computers, however he only plays games such as counter-strike 1.6 so there isn't a big need for an upgrade. I've installed Windows 7 and I'm typing this up on the computer, so far it's going smooth.

    It has:
    2.5gb RAM
    AMD sempron 3400 + (1.8ghz)
    70gb hardrive
    Nvidia Geforce 6100 nForce 405 integrated

    Now, I've looked at graphics cards and they all say stuff like PCI-E or whatever, I don't know what this means (see pics below). It says on my motherboard PCI-Express:












    I'd like the cheapest graphics card possible, just enough to run CSS on around medium settings as he wont be playing anything else really.

    Now, the case seems like a standard sized case, but there is two problems:

    1. The PSU is only 250Watts, so I NEED to get a graphics card which is OK with that (I will not upgrade the PSU).
    2. When looking inside the computer, I don't see where I attach the graphics card to PSU, do I have to unscrew something?

    ANy help would be appreciated, thanks.

    1. Luckily CS 1.6 isn't hard to get running and is a old game..........
    2. You don't attach any cable from the psu, only the higher wattage psu's have those, and only graphics cards that need more power have points on to give them more power directly from the psu. Otherwise the weaker one get the power straight from the motherboard.

    From the looks of it the PCI E slot is the orange one. Can you get a closer shot of it?
    Also when you insert it, make sure the little metal back plate is removed........also remember to install the driver and connect the screen through the gpu and slots in and sticks inside.

    My questions:
    - whats your budget?
    - how is the gaming on CS 1.6 currently?

    My opinion:
    There is a serious issue with your psu, its a generic 250 watt and is quite old, so its actually not even producing such a wattage nor would be able to handle that kind.......... plus graphics cards currently the lowest I have seen needs ideally a minimum of a 300 watt psu.......but consumes around 30ish wattage at most............however because of your psu, it could handle it but there is also a possibility the system won't power up or when the gpu is max load the psu can't handle it and shuts down.

    The gpu I referred to is the GT610, which is the bottom end of the new line up from Nvidia's new 6xx range.......it has the lowest power consumption, 1gb of its own ram, its basically a multimedia gpu but would easily handle CS 1.6. If your looking to get one, they range from £25+ onwards........ also make sure to pick up one with a fan, due to heat and your old case isn't exactly good in terms of cooling, so you might try and remove another back plate at the bottom so when the fan exerts the heat out it goes through there rather then building up. I would normally say AMD is better when on a budget, however they consume far more power. GT610 can even play the new CS, however your processor and ram will limit the gpu from reaching its maximum potential, its called throttling where one part or more being crappy causes other parts to slow down to keep up.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/387015-zotac-z...b-zt-60602-10l

    http://www.ebuyer.com/410045-evga-gt...01g-p3-2615-kr
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    I know i was wrong about the PSU thing and was meant to say i "could be bad news" not it will. I have built multiple computers in my time and do know what im talking about just rushed a reply without thinking
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    Says min 300w. Should be ok with 250w, they tend to overexaggerate.

    http://www.geforce.co.uk/hardware/de...specifications

    EDIT: if your psu blows up becuase you didn't upgrade it then don't blame me :P. I'd upgrade, it's your choice.
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Iqbal007)
    1. Luckily CS 1.6 isn't hard to get running and is a old game..........
    2. You don't attach any cable from the psu, only the higher wattage psu's have those, and only graphics cards that need more power have points on to give them more power directly from the psu. Otherwise the weaker one get the power straight from the motherboard.

    From the looks of it the PCI E slot is the orange one. Can you get a closer shot of it?
    Also when you insert it, make sure the little metal back plate is removed........also remember to install the driver and connect the screen through the gpu and slots in and sticks inside.

    My questions:
    - whats your budget?
    - how is the gaming on CS 1.6 currently?

    My opinion:
    There is a serious issue with your psu, its a generic 250 watt and is quite old, so its actually not even producing such a wattage nor would be able to handle that kind.......... plus graphics cards currently the lowest I have seen needs ideally a minimum of a 300 watt psu.......but consumes around 30ish wattage at most............however because of your psu, it could handle it but there is also a possibility the system won't power up or when the gpu is max load the psu can't handle it and shuts down.

    The gpu I referred to is the GT610, which is the bottom end of the new line up from Nvidia's new 6xx range.......it has the lowest power consumption, 1gb of its own ram, its basically a multimedia gpu but would easily handle CS 1.6. If your looking to get one, they range from £25+ onwards........ also make sure to pick up one with a fan, due to heat and your old case isn't exactly good in terms of cooling, so you might try and remove another back plate at the bottom so when the fan exerts the heat out it goes through there rather then building up. I would normally say AMD is better when on a budget, however they consume far more power.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/387015-zotac-z...b-zt-60602-10l

    http://www.ebuyer.com/410045-evga-gt...01g-p3-2615-kr
    Closer look:
    http://urimage.net/images/2013/04/12/nfuZa.png
    CS 1.6:

    Right now, it's not that bad but everything is on low and I have to run it on openGL rather than directX else it completely lags.

    I've tried another game too. Heroes of newerth: Runs OK also, everything is on low and on 1024x768 res and again, it has to be ran on openGL else it all lags.

    How would this do? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PNY-GT520-...item1c2ff3585b

    I've looked online (here: http://www.game-debate.com/hardware/...rce%20GT%20520) max power is 29 watts.
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Iqbal007)
    1. Luckily CS 1.6 isn't hard to get running and is a old game..........
    2. You don't attach any cable from the psu, only the higher wattage psu's have those, and only graphics cards that need more power have points on to give them more power directly from the psu. Otherwise the weaker one get the power straight from the motherboard.

    From the looks of it the PCI E slot is the orange one. Can you get a closer shot of it?
    Also when you insert it, make sure the little metal back plate is removed........also remember to install the driver and connect the screen through the gpu and slots in and sticks inside.

    My questions:
    - whats your budget?
    - how is the gaming on CS 1.6 currently?

    My opinion:
    There is a serious issue with your psu, its a generic 250 watt and is quite old, so its actually not even producing such a wattage nor would be able to handle that kind.......... plus graphics cards currently the lowest I have seen needs ideally a minimum of a 300 watt psu.......but consumes around 30ish wattage at most............however because of your psu, it could handle it but there is also a possibility the system won't power up or when the gpu is max load the psu can't handle it and shuts down.

    The gpu I referred to is the GT610, which is the bottom end of the new line up from Nvidia's new 6xx range.......it has the lowest power consumption, 1gb of its own ram, its basically a multimedia gpu but would easily handle CS 1.6. If your looking to get one, they range from £25+ onwards........ also make sure to pick up one with a fan, due to heat and your old case isn't exactly good in terms of cooling, so you might try and remove another back plate at the bottom so when the fan exerts the heat out it goes through there rather then building up. I would normally say AMD is better when on a budget, however they consume far more power.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/387015-zotac-z...b-zt-60602-10l

    http://www.ebuyer.com/410045-evga-gt...01g-p3-2615-kr
    Closer look:

    http://urimage.net/images/2013/04/12/nfuZa.png
    CS 1.6:

    Right now, it's not that bad but everything is on low and I have to run it on openGL rather than directX else it completely lags.

    I've tried another game too. Heroes of newerth: Runs OK also, everything is on low and on 1024x768 res and again, it has to be ran on openGL else it all lags.

    How would this do? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PNY-GT520-...item1c2ff3585b

    I've looked online (here: http://www.game-debate.com/hardware/...rce%20GT%20520) max power is 29 watts.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    The reason why the exaggerate the requirements is mainly for stability of the system. You can run it on a lower PSU wattage just be aware you could face the odd BSOD when at full load or is the card is put under pressure for a extended period of time. With what your trying to do though i.e play CS that crard will do be fine.
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DH.)
    Closer look:

    http://urimage.net/images/2013/04/12/nfuZa.png
    CS 1.6:

    Right now, it's not that bad but everything is on low and I have to run it on openGL rather than directX else it completely lags.

    I've tried another game too. Heroes of newerth: Runs OK also, everything is on low and on 1024x768 res and again, it has to be ran on openGL else it all lags.

    How would this do? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PNY-GT520-...item1c2ff3585b

    I've looked online (here: http://www.game-debate.com/hardware/...rce%20GT%20520) max power is 29 watts.

    GT 520, GT 610, 210, all are solid options. Of the 3 I'd probably go with the 520 over the 610, but there is very little difference in it.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    +1 for dathtom
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Battered Burrito)
    +1 for dathtom
    Thank you Sorry for being angry with you earlier. I entered rage mode for a few minuets.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    I think most of your options are on this thread now tbh, its just a shame upgrading the PSU isnt an option as it just makes it a little harder to find a card for 250W
    however with what is on the thread at the moment i would personally go with

    GT520
    210
    GT610
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the help to all the posters, if anyone could comment on this card as it seems rather cheap (just to make sure):
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PNY-GT520-...item1c2ff3585b
 
 
 
Reply
Submit reply
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

Updated: April 25, 2013
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • Poll
    Brussels sprouts
    Useful resources

    Articles:

    The Student Room tech wikiTech forum guidelines

    Quick link:

    Unanswered technology and computers threads

    Sponsored features:

    Web Legend

    Win a Macbook Air!

    Blog about setting up a website for a chance to win in our Web Legend competition.

    Groups associated with this forum:

    View associated groups
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

    Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

    Quick reply
    Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.