Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I've just been to the applicant day where someone asked the policy on visitors in student halls. We were told we were allowed 3 visits a semester and it has to be previously authorised by everybody in the flat and then the people in charg. I think this is absolutely ridiculous. I'm a mature student, I'm not being told who I can have stay and when and having to get a petition signed if I'm paying a hundred pounds a week (which is the same as I previously rented a whole 2 bedroom house in Leeds). What if one flatmate hates you and refuses to sign? Does anyone know how strict the uni is on this and if any private halls share a similar policy. Most I've seen have just said occasional visitors are allowed, respect your flatmates and obviously don't move somebody into your room, which is fair enough.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dizzee_Ragdoll)
    I've just been to the applicant day where someone asked the policy on visitors in student halls. We were told we were allowed 3 visits a semester and it has to be previously authorised by everybody in the flat and then the people in charg. I think this is absolutely ridiculous. I'm a mature student, I'm not being told who I can have stay and when and having to get a petition signed if I'm paying a hundred pounds a week (which is the same as I previously rented a whole 2 bedroom house in Leeds). What if one flatmate hates you and refuses to sign? Does anyone know how strict the uni is on this and if any private halls share a similar policy. Most I've seen have just said occasional visitors are allowed, respect your flatmates and obviously don't move somebody into your room, which is fair enough.
    I ve read that for overnight visits you have to have written permission from all of your flatmates or the person in charge of the halls but thats all i ve been able to find

ReputationRep: