Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

Thankyou for taking the time to read this. I know that I probably sound completely pathetic, but I am just feeling so low and do not know what to do

I'm a final year medical student, and have just finished my finals. I've been feeling really down (I think I've always been up and own during med school). I thought I would feel so much happier once finals were over but I don't

I'm not really looking forward to anything - I'm supposed to be going to Singapore for my elective in May followed by a one week holiday with my BF afterwards, but I just don't feel excited about it. I just feel like I want to stay here at home in the UK. Everytime I go onto Facebook, I see people from my year with all this amazing statuses about how they are in some exotic location for their elective with their friends etc - but it just makes me feel so lonely. I have made a few close friends at Uni - but have had a few problems and just couldn't see myself spending my elective with them and so I chose to do something on my own. There are other students going to Singapore as well but I'm not staying with them (as they are going for longer than me)

I'm just not looking forward to it - except maybe the holiday afterwards. I don't feel excited about the thought of going somewhere new. Everyone around me seems so excited by travelling and going to new places, and I just want to stay here...is this normal? I feel that everyone on Facebook must be having a fantastic time, and It just makes me feel so alone...probably should just get rid of my facebook since I hardly use it..and when I do it just has a negative effect

I don't know why I feel so down. I just feel worried and anxious about everything all the time, and I thought the feeling would pass after exams but it hasn't

Has anyone experienced anything similar? Or felt like this during medical school?