Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys,

I'm in my first year at college and want to become an accountant. I do A levels in Maths, Chemistry, Biology and History. I was just wondering if people could help me out on the best route to take to work for one of the big 4 firms (Deloitte, Pricewaterhousecoopers, KPMG and Ernst & Young), any help is appreciated!!!

ReputationRep:
    You would normally need a UCAS tariff of at least 300 and a 2:1 or above in any degree at a decent university.

If you are certain about your future career as an accountant you might be interested in an employer-sponsored degree such as PwC Flying Start.

ReputationRep:
    Check out the school leavers schemes. You may have missed them if you're already doing your second year of A-levels though.

ReputationRep:
    If you wanna work for a Big 4 firm doing a general scheme (tax / audit / advisory), you'll need a 2:1 minimum and usually 320 UCAS points (ABB). Some schemes require 340 (AAB).
    If you want to join the School Leaver's program I think you need 300 UCAS points. PwC actually look for 240-280, depending on the scheme.
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Official TSR Representative
    (Original post by SamTew29)
    Hi Guys,

I'm in my first year at college and want to become an accountant. I do A levels in Maths, Chemistry, Biology and History. I was just wondering if people could help me out on the best route to take to work for one of the big 4 firms (Deloitte, Pricewaterhousecoopers, KPMG and Ernst & Young), any help is appreciated!!!
    Hi there

There are several routes you could take. You don't say if you want to go to university or not, so you need to consider the following:

• university route: upwards of 280-300 UCAS points, first or a 2.1 degree