The Student Room Group

Does doing Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Biology at A level rule out a lot of options?

I'm considering studying medicine at university and I'm currently in my final year of GCSEs. I believe that I have the grades so far as I've been getting consistent A*s and a few As so far. My only worry is that if I do Maths and 3 sciences at A level then decide that medicine isn't for me, will that have ruled out a lot of other options. If it won't, then why other things could I do at university with those A levels.
(also I know I'd need to get very good grades in my A levels to ever consider medicine)

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Ellios
If it won't, then why other things could I do at university with those A levels.

Have a look here: http://www.russellgroup.ac.uk/media/informed-choices/InformedChoices-latest.pdf

Scroll down to "Subjects required for different career courses" to get an idea of what other courses you can do. You would still have plenty of options :yes:
Reply 2
All 4 of these subjects are facilitating subjects and so they will not limit you in any way. E.g. Top universities take students for law with such A levels because it proves they got the right abilities.
You could do pretty much anything that doesn't require very specific requirements.
If you want to do something sciencey, those are the only subjects you can take. It tends to be science degrees that require certain subjects rather than arts so it's safer to go with the sciences.
I did those last year and there were lots of things I could have chosen.
The only thing is, without further maths, you can't do maths, it'd be very difficult to get in as you'd be in competition with other applicants with it and some unis outright reject you if you don't have it.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4