Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an international student and I got accepted to MSc CS in University of Edinburgh. Moreover I am planning to do a PHD when I finish my MSc.

I can afford my self for only one year at UoE.

So how hard is it to get a funded PHD in UoE if you have done your MSc in UoE and graduated top 5% or 10% of your class?

It would be great if a computer science student from UoE shared his insight.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Xang)
    I am an international student and I got accepted to MSc CS in University of Edinburgh. Moreover I am planning to do a PHD when I finish my MSc.

I can afford my self for only one year at UoE.

So how hard is it to get a funded PHD in UoE if you have done your MSc in UoE and graduated top 5% or 10% of your class?

It would be great if a computer science student from UoE shared his insight.

Thanks
    It will depend entirely on what funding they have for international students next year. It is not enough simply to be top of your class. There will be top students from other universities too. Likewise, your own nationality influences what funding is available (e.g. if you are a commonwealth student). Look at this page for a rough guide.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you for the reply. But isn't the school of informatics at Edinburgh one of the largest in the UK?

If so then they should have plenty of Teaching and Research
    assistantship positions. If so shouldnt funding be easy to get? Or are these positions reserved for UK students only?

ReputationRep:
    I think class ranks are more of a US phenomenon. I don't know about Scottish university but at English universities these things generally aren't even published.