Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I am in fourth year at the moment and currently doing Int 2 maths. I do not like maths and find it really hard, I reckon I could probably get a B this year (Which would be fine for me) but my school insists that you need to do maths next year? Does anyone know? Thanks

ReputationRep:
    It's down to the individual schools what subjects they make compulsory or not. At my school English is compulsory in 5th Year but Maths is not. Check with the DHT incharge of S5 Options to see what applies for your school!
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Study Helper
    It depends on the institution, there's no nationwide policy as far as I know, but many schools enforce maths in 5th year as compulsory.

ReputationRep:
    My school doesn't force any subjects apart from maths and English for 4th year. So glad they never forced us to do a language

ReputationRep:
    Maths was compulsory in 5th year at my school, but it wasn't in another school nearby so it won't be a nationwide thing. My school was occasionally flexible with people who didn't want to take maths if they could give good reasons(basically explain their life plan and why they didn't need maths for it), so I'd suggest talking to someone at your school about it.

ReputationRep:
    No. Well, certainly at my school it's not (and neither is English), although our school tries to accommodate everyone and you don't need to choose your subjects from columns. I struggled with maths last year and only managed to get a 3 in the final exam, and don't feel that I've been hindered at all by not taking it. Really, I can only advise you to choose subjects which you enjoy and have an aptitude for in 5th year, and if you're struggling now then perhaps it'd be wiser not to take it. I know fifth year would have been hell had I been forced to take maths.

ReputationRep:
    Okay, thanks everyone! Really helped

ReputationRep: