Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I used to be a happy/bubbly high schooler. I know many people hated their time in high school but I loved my school and the friends I had... until I moved away for university. I detest my university with every fibre of my being. I thought I'd grow to love it here but I miss my family, I miss my friends. I am now a second year student and I feel like I havn't made any lasting connections or good relationships with people here. At first I blamed other people but recently, I feel like I'm the one at fault. Why am I so socially retarded? Why am I so weird? Why does no one like me for who I am? :'(

I wake up in the morning feeling like there's this huge rock on my chest. My sleeping pattern is completely screwed up - I'd go to bed at 2 to 3 but can't get myself out of bed until 11 in the morning. Then I'd doze off and fall asleep again in the afternoon. It feels like I'm using sleep as a form of escape. I used to drink a lot of coffee but now, even if I drink a cup of relatively strong tea, I can't sleep in the evening. I find that I feel even more anxious when I do drink coffee. When I get anxious, my legs won't stop shaking, I try to work but my mind just goes *******. I thought I'd able to focus on my studies and get out of this university with a good degree. Academically, I am not doing as well as I want to. I feel like I've failed myself.

I did seriously consider switching to another university but I don't think that's a good idea given that I am already more than half way through my degree.

What should I do? I don't know what is happening.

ReputationRep:
    Hi, my name is Rob.