Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi Mark,

I am a single mum with an 11yr old son. I am a mature student of 31 and have applied to do Access to Medicine and Medical Biosciences at City and Islington College this September. The course is 14hrs per week plus an hour personal tutor time, so 15hrs per week. I am unsure whether I should apply as a full time student or part time student.

I wanted to ask what exactly can I apply for in regards to student finance? I know I can probably apply for a tuition loan.
    I am confused about exactly what I should apply for and will I be eligible?

At the moment I am unemployed receiving JSA and seeking part-time work alongside studying for September. I am also receiving child benefit and child tax credit for my son.

I hope you can help,

Regards,

Mel
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Official TSR Representative
    Hi Mel,

Based on the info you've provided I'm not sure if you'll be eligible to receive student finance for this course.

As a general rule we can only fund level 4 and 5 courses and most access courses are level 3.

Is this is a one year access?

Thanks,
    Mark-Lee

ReputationRep:
    Hi Mark,

What support will be available to me if any? Yes the course is 1 year.

Regards,

Mel.

ReputationRep:
    Hiya Mark,

Would I be eligible and able to apply for the 24+ Advanced Learning Loan for my Access course?....

Regards,

Mel...

ReputationRep:
    Hi again Mel,

Yes you should be entitled to receive a 24+ Advanced Learning Loan for your access course. It might be worth noting though that these loans will only cover the tuition fee amount as there is no maintenance support available through +24.

Hope this helps,
    Mark-Lee

ReputationRep:
    Hi Mark,

Thanks for your help. I will apply for the 24+ Advanced Loan for the tuition fees. In terms of maintenance what does this include?