Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all!

I got my degree in South Africa from a good university there. I'm now back in the UK and not sure exactly what to do on my CV. Firstly, the problem of converting my degree equivalent - I have an Honours degree. In the UK as far as I remember that's not necessarily an extra year or considered post-graduate level studying. In South Africa it's 4th year and considered post-graduate. So sometimes on a drop down menu there's no real option for me - it's either undergrad or straight to masters. I usually just put undergrad because I definitely don't have a Masters!

My second question (probably more important) is converting my marks on my CV. In SA it works as follows:

1st Class = 75% upwards
    2:1 = 70-74%
    2:2 = 60-69%
    3rd class = 50-59
    Fail 1 = 45-49%
    Fail 2 = 35-44%
    Fail 3 = 0 - 34%

My understanding is that in the UK (generally speaking) it's as follows:

1st Class = 70% upwards
    2:1 = 60-69%
    2:2 = 50-59 %
    3rd Class = somewhere in the 40's?

So, the question:

Do I convert this onto my CV? If I don't, they'll see I have a 2:2 for a subject that would be a 2:1 in the UK, and they'll see that I have a 2:1 for a subject that would be a 1st in the UK. But if I do, I'm scared they'll say "Hey, based on your marks system in SA you've not told the truth" - but if I don't convert the marks I won't get my foot in the door in the first place because they'll see me put the SA rating system and think "Why's this idiot applied when he hasn't got a 2:1?". See what I mean? What does one do? Is it simpler just to put the percentage and risk letting them think you're a bit odd for not putting the standard mark rating system? Or better to convert it and if it comes up to explain in the interview?

Thanks all for any help

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SPB)
    x
    Hi,