Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Hi everyone,

I really want some advice on whether or not I should appeal to the medical decision to reject me. I am an international foundation student studying at the University of Cardiff. The application process is a little different for International foundation students. The medical school have saved some seats for us. Me and four other candidates have received interviews and they were done in March. The requirements were 60% in all subject and 65% in half. I have achieved an average of a 1st in the Autumn semester. I checked on UCAS and I found out i was the only person out of 4 who got rejected. I was furious for 2 reasons:

1) One of the applicants who got the place had poor grades. She failed a subject achieving a grade of 55 which is BELOW their requirements.

2) in the interview, I told them that I head of academics in my highschool and that i had to organize many classes for SEVERAL grades as well as teach some one them. It also came to the subject of my father being very ill very often and that i felt like it was my duty as well as my mums to keep everything together and take care of him and the house. I was FURIOUS when I got the feedback from the interview and they told me i was not responsible

I really do want to appeal to the decision because i believe it is not fair. They told me i was responsible in the interview however they told me otherwise in the feedback. How can a girl that did not meet the requirements get a place. I have worked so hard for this and it's heartbreaking to be so close to living my dream. It's extremely hard to get an interview for international students as there aren't many places.

I will not stop trying! whatever it takes i will get into med school one day. But for now, I want to appeal to this decision. Is there any advice you can give me? Thank you for your time. I am so grateful