Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm starting a 5-year medicine degree this September as a graduate. I completed my first degree in June 2010, and have been in full-time employment since. I lived at home for 2 years, however I paid board, and will have lived in privately rented accommodation with my girlfriend for just over a year once I start my course in September.

I know I am ineligible for the tuition fee loan due to this being my second degree. However with it being a medical degree I am entitled to the maintenance loan (but not the grant). I had assumed I would be entitled to the full loan (around £7k in London) as I have lived completely independently for over a year, and will be receiving no support from my parents during my course. However it know seems that I will be income assessed as I have not been completely independent by their standards for over 3 years. This means my parents income will be assessed, even though they will not be supporting me, and I will not receive the much need FULL maintenance loan.

So as I understand there are a number of ways I could maximise my loan:

1. I turn 25 in Novemner, so would this make me classify as independent from then onwards? Or would me being 24 at the start of my course mean I'm classified as non-independt for the whole year?

2. I could get married? And this would classify me as independent.

3. My parents are separated, could I just use the income of one of my parents rather than of two?
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    Hi byebyebadman,

Unfortunatey this is the case with many students, myself included. It sounds as though your only way of being classified as independent is by calling student finance and explaining that you will be 25 in the November, so is there any chance you can be assessed as an independent student? I don't believe there is any other way for you to be classified as independent.