Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I need distinctions and merits to get into Uni. What happens if I get a pass? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey TSR, first post here.

I'm studying an access to science access course and I've already firmed the university that I want to go to where they require 25 Distinctions with the remaining units at Merit to study Chemistry.

I've been consistently achieving Distinctions in all my units so far, totalling 33 distinctions, therefore I have more distinctions expected of me.

The problem is an assignment on my maths unit - complex numbers - has completely floored me and I only received a pass in that unit.

When I do send my certificate off to my uni of choice, how bad will that pass affect me? Is the Uni likely to disregard the pass that I got and take into account that I have all distinctions instead?

This is really bothering me, if anybody has experience with this, please help

ReputationRep:
    Just a question about your Access course, does it do the full 60 credits at level 3 or 45 at 3/15 at 2? If it is the former you should actually have extra credits to use, as most offers are made on the basis of 45 level 3 credit earned.

It's not one we can answer for certain however it's likely a university will show common sense should you over-achieve in other units. I presume also from your wording this was the final mark and you don't have another assignment coming up within the same module.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Desperate Dan)
    Just a question about your Access course, does it do the full 60 credits at level 3 or 45 at 3/15 at 2? If it is the former you should actually have extra credits to use, as most offers are made on the basis of 45 level 3 credit earned.