Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm relatively new to photography, but, I've been checking out the specs of this camera and it seems brilliant, but before I'd buy it (I still have a lot of saving to do) I'd really like some advice, maybe from people who have used or have the camera who can tell me what it's like. Or we could just discussmirrorless interchangeable lens cameras vs DSLRs??

Please get in touch!!

ReputationRep:
    I haven't used it, and it's really not my thing. I could understand buying it for a casual camera (especially with the pancake lens), but it seems a bit costly for that. I'd rather just get a standard point and shoot for those sorts of shots.

My major concern is its small size, especially with large lenses. Weight, and importantly, the distribution of it, are quite vital. I have a battery grip on my DSLR and it's more useful as a counterbalance than as a method of doubling my battery life. I've seen pictures of people putting the 70-200 f/2.8 on it, and I can't imagine the camera would be in any way useful with that on there.

Similarly, lenses aren't small either. There comes a limit where the size of the body of the camera, in proportion to the size of the lenses in your bag, means that a larger camera is a sensible option. I wouldn't use it to save space.

If I had to spend that money on a non-DSLR, I'd highly consider the Canon Powershot G15 instead. I would have to do more research either way.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SillyEddy)
    I haven't used it, and it's really not my thing. I could understand buying it for a casual camera (especially with the pancake lens), but it seems a bit costly for that. I'd rather just get a standard point and shoot for those sorts of shots.