Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm an international student studying in the UK, and I'm really struggling with essay writing. I'm currently writing my first assessed essay, and I do not know how the percentages are calculated.

What is needed just to get a Pass? How are the percentages calculated? I do not know what the tutor expects, and I'm hoping that someone can provide some guidelines as to what I should focus on. The essay does not count towards my final grade, but I still want to pass.

All answers are appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    usually 40%- at least is is for my degree

ReputationRep:
    For me, a pass is 35-39%. What I'm more curious about is how exactly these percentages are calculated. How bad does an essay need to be in order to fail? I have pretty much no idea what my tutor expects, and it would be nice to get some guidelines.
    For instance, how many percentages does just grammar, bibliography, referencing, etc. make up?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by justinsane)
    For me, a pass is 35-39%. What I'm more curious about is how exactly these percentages are calculated. How bad does an essay need to be in order to fail? I have pretty much no idea what my tutor expects, and it would be nice to get some guidelines.
    For instance, how many percentages does just grammar, bibliography, referencing, etc. make up?
    Have you not been given a mark scheme? We get given one with every essay that spells out what you need to do to get a certain mark.

If you've been given any sort of course handbook, you may find it in there. Also check likely places on blackboard (or whatever your uni's online thing is called-where you get lectures etc uploaded for you etc) as you may find there's guidance been provided somewhere there.