Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I admit, the title may be a little misleading, but hear me out...

I know it sounds stupid. I love being at the University of York, I love my college (Derwent, in case anyone was wondering/cares), I love the campus, I love the city, I love everything that goes on and most of all, I love the people.

There's one problem: I hate my course.

I'm currently studying Language and Linguistic Science and doing pretty well but it's not what I want to do. I want to and always have wanted to have a career in technical theatre. For this to happen a degree in the area would be incredibly helpful.

I'm so happy that I got into such a good University but I'm doing a course that other people expected me to do because I'm 'academic' not because I can see myself having a career in it. If I want to get a degree in the subject I'm passionate in then I have to drop out of York this year because of student finance.

My Mum is on board with my change and we've set plans involving work experience and what I need to do to be successful.

Am I being stupid in changing?

ReputationRep:
    No, you're not being stupid. I think it's great that you've decided to follow you heart and not do what others expect you to do. You're also very lucky that your mum is on board with it, as all too often, you see parents not supporting changes of degree, especially when switching to a 'less academic' degree.

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    Theres no problem with that, I'm from derwent college as well and 2 people i know in the same boat have dropped out because its not what they wanna do. Theres no point going through 3 years of something you really hate, itll just put you off further education in the future, waste your money and restrict your further student loan opportunities.