The Student Room Group

Best textbooks to learn Mandarin, Japanese, and Korean from scratch?

I am going to begin learning all 3 of these languages (speak and listen, not read and write) very soon, from scratch.

However, can anyone recommend me a great text book from which to learn the basics in each of these 3 key languages?
Reply 1
Original post by Isambard Kingdom Brunel
I am going to begin learning all 3 of these languages (speak and listen, not read and write) very soon, from scratch.

However, can anyone recommend me a great text book from which to learn the basics in each of these 3 key languages?

I'm studying Japanese at university, and we've been using Genki 1. Myself and my coursemates absolutely love the textbook, but there are some other very famous ones as well such as mina no nihongo which some might argue is as good or better.

At the moment, we use: Genki 1 textbook, genki 1 workbook, genki kanji textbook and genki kanji workbook. :smile:
Original post by Quick-use
I'm studying Japanese at university, and we've been using Genki 1. Myself and my coursemates absolutely love the textbook, but there are some other very famous ones as well such as mina no nihongo which some might argue is as good or better.

At the moment, we use: Genki 1 textbook, genki 1 workbook, genki kanji textbook and genki kanji workbook. :smile:

Would you say that using a textbook is worthwhile if I am only intent on learning to say and listen to the language, rather than read and write?

Do you think, thus, an audiobook which I can listen to while commuting may be a better idea?
Reply 3
Would you say that using a textbook is worthwhile if I am only intent on learning to say and listen to the language, rather than read and write?

Do you think, thus, an audiobook which I can listen to while commuting may be a better idea?

The Genki 1 textbook also comes with a CD so it can help your listening.