Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm studying Business&management at Aston Uni in undergrad (I'm first year).

I'm seeking for advice as to whether I should change uni (in this case Bristol) in order to have a greater chance to be considered, for my Master, in unis like LSE/Warwick/UCL.

Does the uni reputation/ranking REALLY count? I'm doing pretty well at Aston (2:1 after winter exam, being an EU student. Getting a 1st is surely a possibility), but is it enough?

Thanks in advance for your answers

ReputationRep:
    I went from undergrad at a former poly to a Masters at a Russell Group. It shouldn't be an issue for you. A 2:1 or a First will get your foot through the door of most unis, although for places like LSE and UCL, a First would be your best shot at looking competitive.

ReputationRep:
    You can definitely make it, it's mostly up to your average grade (a first would be better) and cv/extracurriculars

ReputationRep:
    It has to be said that in the UK, extracurricular activities don't seem to have much bearing on a Masters application. Mine was focussed on my dissertation research outline. I don't remember being asked at any point in the application, about activities beyond my academic endeavours.

ReputationRep:
    Good to know Klix88, thanks.

Now I feel a bit confused.. Do you think that a year in the industry gives a significant/valuable extra interest to my application?

Also, is NOT being in the Russell group AND low ranked compared to the universities I will apply to for my master will penalize me in comparison to students who come from russell group unis?

ReputationRep: